Thursday, April 12, 2018

Southwest Australia Woodlands

The Great Western Woodlands region is extraordinary in that it has remained relatively intact since European settlement, owing to the variable rainfall and lack of readily accessible groundwater for livestock.

The woodland includes most of the contagious residual natural woody vegetation to the east of the wheatbelt in south-western Western Australia.

The Great Western Woodlands contains the largest and healthiest temperate woodland remaining on Earth. The region covers almost 16 million hectares, 160,000 square kilometres, from the southern edge of the Western Australian Wheatbelt to the pastoral lands of the mulga country in the north, the inland deserts to the northeast, and the treeless Nullarbor Plain to the east.

As other temperate woodlands in Australia and around the world have typically become highly fragmented and degraded through agricultural use, the Great Western Woodlands offer an important opportunity the functioning of relatively intact woodland landscape.

This area can be sustainably managed while also securing the future of communities and industry in the region.

The Woodlands are home to an amazing variety of native flora and fauna with 20% of all Australia’s plant species, 20% of Australia’s eucalypt species, and dozens of rare and threatened animals such as Chuditch, Malleefowl, Woylies and Red-tailed Phascogales.
Southwest Australia Woodlands
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

The most popular posts

Other Interesting Articles

  • Panic attacks occur unexpectedly, sometimes even during sleep. People who experience such attacks and are preoccupied with the fear of another or alter the...
  • The major priority in beef production is to produce as many calves as possible. The main objective of weaning is therefore to enable a cow to calve every y...